Class of 2019 Celebrated

Class of 2019 Celebrated
Posted on 06/03/2019
graduatesAs the end of the school year approaches, Erwin High School has stopped to appreciate this year’s graduating class several times recently.

Buncombe County Schools celebrated the 2019 Top Scholars from each graduating class at each of the six traditional BCS high schools during a dinner and special recognition ceremony at the Renaissance Asheville hotel ballroom on Tuesday, April 30.

Erwin’s Top Scholars were
Dorothy “Scout” Allen
Eliana Noelle Anders
Jaiden Reece Bartley
James Caleb Colclasure
Edward Andreas Fowler
Nicholas Anthony Johnson
Bailey Elizabeth Justice
Savannah Joy Kefalas
Emma Ione Loveland
Kaitlyn Nicole Messer
Madeline Nicole Parker
Alisha Dolores Penland
Brianna Michelle Roberts
Dafne Alexia Garcia Sanchez
Carlee Raquel Willis

Erwin High also held its own awards ceremony on the evening of May 16. Students were recognized as graduating with honors and CTE honors and were awarded in multiple areas. Academic excellence awards were conferred in a number of areas, and students who had received scholarships were recognized. The academic excellence awards were decided on by teachers within their departments.

The students awarded for academic excellence were
Agriculture - Andrew Morgan
Band - Anna Massengill
Business - Carlee Willis
Dance - Bailey Justice
Early Childhood Education - Sydney King
English - Edward Fowler
Family & Consumer Sciences - Lane Wilson
Foreign Languages - Artem Bondarenko
Industrial Arts (Drafting/Carpentry) - Meaghan Ledford
Mathematics - DeAndre Whitaker
Nursing - Savannah Kefalas
Orchestra - Tristin Lennert
Physical Education - Anthony Dean
ROTC - Samuel Parham
Science - Caleb Colclasure
Social Studies - Caleb Colclasure
Student Council - Jaiden Bartley
Visual Arts - Teresa Walsh
Vocal Music - Michael Smith

We also introduced a new set of awards this year, the PRIDE awards, sponsored by PBIS. PBIS is a program that acknowledges and rewards positive behavior by building a proactive foundation of expectations for our students. Our foundation is built on five core values: Perseverance, Respect, Integrity, Diversity, and Excellence. We recognized one student for each of the five core values and one student for the PRIDE award, an overall award for a student who represents all of the core values well and could have been recognized for any of them individually. Nominations required a written explanation of why the student matches that core value well and when it came to voting, only that explanation was used. No names were given. Because they were anonymous, these awards are based solely on descriptions of the student’s actions and choices day to day at Erwin High School, and because students were able to both nominate each other and later vote for winners, these are the only awards that the students themselves had any input on.

Students awarded were
Perseverance - Anna Massengill
Respect - Zebulen Dayton
Integrity - Sydney King
Diversity - DeAnna Clark
Excellence - Milena Buchanan
PRIDE - Bailey Justice

Erwin also held a couple of celebrations for the class of 2019. On Wednesday, May 22, Student Council sponsored the Senior Class Picnic at Camp Daniel Boone in Canton. Seniors were able to get permission to go to the picnic for the day to participate in water activities like kayaking, canoeing, and swimming, arts and crafts, rock climbing, and general hanging out and merriment. Then, on Friday, May 24, we held both the Senior Walk and Signing Day. Seniors were sent back to West Buncombe, Leicester, Woodfin, Emma, and Johnston Elementary Schools in the early morning to walk the halls in their graduation regalia. Then in the afternoon, the whole school participated in recognizing students who had been accepted and agreed to go to their respective colleges as well as students who have enlisted in the military. Pictures from both of these events can be seen in the photo gallery below.

Congratulations to the Erwin High School Class of 2019! We are so proud of everything you’ve accomplished and the people you have become.